— For Immediate Release

February 4, 2019

Wrath James White and Brian Keene, founders of the Splatterpunk Awards, which recognize superior achievement in the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror, are pleased to announce the nominees for the second annual awards, honoring works published in 2018.


A Gathering of Evil by Gil Valle (Comet Press)
Camp Slasher by Dan Padavona (Independently Published)
Full Brutal by Kristopher Triana (Grindhouse Press)
Last Day by Bryan Smith (Independently Published)
Rabid Heart by Jeremy Wagner (Riverdale Avenue Books)
Ring of Fire by David Agranoff (Deadite Press)


1000 Severed Dicks by Ryan Harding and Matt Shaw (Independently Published)
Cockblock by CV Hunt (Grindhouse Press)
Dead Stripper Storage by Bryan Smith (Grindhouse Press)
Kill For Satan by Bryan Smith (Grindhouse Press)
The Mongrel by Sean O’Connor (Matador)
The Writhing Skies by Betty Rocksteady (Perpetual Motion Machine Publishing)


Diabolicus Interruptus by Christine Morgan (Forbidden Futures #1)
Fistulas by Mame Bougouma Diene (Dark Moons Rising on a Starless Night)
Rebound by Brendan Vidito (Nightmares In Ecstasy)
The Seacreator by Ryan Harding (Splatterpunk Forever)
Seersucker Motherfucker by Jay Wilburn (Beautiful Darkness)
Virtue of Stagnant Waters by Monica J. O’Rourke (Splatterpunk Forever)


Dark Moons Rising on a Starless Night by Mame Bougouma Diene (Clash Books)
DJStories by David J. Schow (Subterranean Press)
Nightmares In Ecstasy by Brendan Vidito (Clash Books)
The Very Ineffective Haunted House by Jeff Burk (Clash Books)
Walking Alone: Short Stories by Bentley Little (Cemetery Dance Publications)


The Black Room Manuscripts Volume 4 by J. R. Park and Tracy Fahey (Sinister Horror Company)
Monsters of Any Kind by Alessandro Manzetti and Daniele Bonfanti (Independent Legions Publishing)
Splatterpunk Forever by Jack Bantry and Kit Power (Splatterpunk zine)
Welcome to the Show by Doug Murano and Matt Hayward (Crystal Lake Publishing)
Year’s Best Hardcore Horror Volume 3 by Randy Chandler and Cheryl Mullenax (Red Room Press)

In addition to these nominees, publisher and author David G. Barnett will receive the J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the field.

The nominees were selected by readers, fans, professionals and the jurors. The final ballot will be voted on by this year’s jury: Regina Garza-Mitchell, Gabino Iglesias, Tod Clark, Gerard Houarner, Jason Cavallaro, and Garrett Cook.

The awards will be presented during a ceremony at the 2019 Killercon Convention, taking place August 16th through the 18th in Austin, Texas. For more information, click here.


  1. Good to see Dave Barnett’s being awarded the J. F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award. No one can say Dave didn’t earn it. “Against considerable odds”—in the most visceral sense—really applys here.

  2. I concur .Dave Barnett always semms to be under-appreciated in my eyes. Necro Publishing puts out some of the best books out there. Dave has been through some very rough times in the last decade, and continues to publish some of the best books out there.Thank you Dave,for all of your hard work, and dedication.


Comments are closed.