The deadline to recommend works for the First Annual Splatterpunk Awards, honoring superior achievement in the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror fiction is fast approaching. Recommendations will be accepted until midnight (Eastern Standard Time) January 31, 2018 for the following categories:

BEST NOVEL (for works of more than 50,000 words)
BEST NOVELLA (for works from 15,000 to 50,000 words)
BEST SHORT STORY (for works from 500 to 14,000 words)
BEST COLLECTION (for single-author works over 50,000 words)
BEST ANTHOLOGY (for multiple-author collections over 50,000 words)

To recommend works, registered attendees of Killercon Austin can use this simple online form.

The three works that have the most reader recommendations in each category will proceed to the ballot. The 2018 Splatterpunk Awards jury will have the ability to add two additional works, that may have been overlooked by the general public, to each category. When this process is completed, the official nominees will be announced publicly. The jury will then vote on the winner in each category.

The 2018 Splatterpunk Awards jurors are David J. Schow, Gerard Houarner, Monica J. O’Rourke, Mike Lombardo, and Tod Clark. The founders of the Splatterpunk Awards, Wrath James White and Brian Keene, will select the Lifetime Achievement Award winner. Please note: Works by members of the jury, as well as the award founders, will not be eligible for inclusion on the ballot, in any category (with the exception of the Lifetime Achievement award).


Comments are closed.