Splatterpunk Awards Open

Recommendations for the 2018 Splatterpunk Awards are now open. Registered attendees of KillerCon Austin, which takes place August 24-26, 2018, are welcome to recommend works and take part in the process. To recommend works, click here and fill out the online form.

The annual Splatterpunk Awards will honor superior achievement in the sub-genres of SplatterPunk / Extreme Horror fiction, in the following categories:

BEST NOVEL (for works of more than 50,000 words)
BEST NOVELLA (for works from 15,000 to 50,000 words)
BEST SHORT STORY (for works from 500 to 14,000 words)
BEST COLLECTION (for single-author works over 50,000 words)
BEST ANTHOLOGY (for multiple-author collections over 50,000 words)

Attendees can recommend works in each of these categories, to honor works published in 2017. Recommendations will be accepted from August 1, 2017 until midnight (Eastern Standard Time) January 31, 2018.  You must be a registered attendee before the January 31, 2018 deadline.

The three works that have the most reader recommendations in each category will proceed to the ballot. The 2018 Splatterpunk Awards jury will have the ability to add two additional works, that may have been overlooked by the general public, to each category. When this process is completed, the official nominees will be announced publicly. The jury will then vote on the winner in each category.

Please note: Works by members of the jury, as well as the award founders, will not be eligible for inclusion on the ballot, in any category (with the exception of the J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement award). The 2018 Splatterpunk Awards jurors are David J. Schow, Gerard Houarner, Monica J. O’Rourke, Mike Lombardo, and Tod Clark. The Founders of the SplatterPunk Awards, Wrath James White and Brian Keene, will select the J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award winner.

Leave a Reply