OCTOBER RUST (Pressure, Signing Recap, and new J.F. Gonzalez & Geoff Cooper books)

Pressure front cover

This is the cover for PRESSURE — a new horror/thriller/corporate espionage novel that marks my return to mainstream publishing (because eventually, you have to do that no matter how comfortable you are in the indie press). It will be out in trade hardcover and digital on June 21, 2016. You can pre-order it here.

Off the coast of tropical Mauritius, an ecological catastrophe with global implications is occurring. The ocean’s floor is collapsing at a rapid rate. World-champion free diver and marine biologist Carrie Anderson joins a scientific expedition determined to discover the cause-and how to stop it. But what they uncover is even more horrific. Deep beneath the surface, something is awake. Something hungry. Something…cold. Now, the pressure builds as Carrie and her colleagues must contend with the murderous operatives of a corrupt corporation, an unnatural disaster that grows bigger by the day, and a monstrous predator that may spell the extinction of all mankind.

Jaws meets Alien in this hot new thriller from bestselling author and World Horror Grandmaster Award winner Brian Keene. Pressure is the perfect summer read for fans of Michael Crichton and Douglas Preston.

***

This past weekend, I drove up to North Andover, MA to sign at the Merrimack Valley Halloween Book Festival. The inaugural event was spearheaded by Christopher Golden, and as someone who has spearheaded over a dozen such events, I can attest that he did a fantastic job.

I had a great time meeting readers and fans (the couple who got married last week, the guys without tickets, the dude with great questions, Char, the family from Atlanta, the guy in the Captain America shirt, the young woman whose sister is named after Wonder Woman — see, I really do remember everyone I meet, but I’m just terrible with names). It was also nice to catch up with friends like Joe Hill, Rio Youers, Jack Haringa, Paul Tremblay, John Langan, Sarah Langan, John Goodrich, Bracken McLeod, Eric Nunnally, and Gard Goldsmith, and meet new friends like Myke Cole and Mallory O’Meara. I shared a signing table for many hours with Mary SanGiovanni and Rio Youers, and participated on a panel and live reading of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. Then we capped off the evening with a wonderful dinner and late-night conversation.

A special shout-out to author John McIlveen and his fiancee, Roberta, who entertained a bunch of us in their home and put us up for the weekend. Wonderful hosts, wonderful friends, and a wonderful time.

Here are a few pics.

Me and Joe Hill, suitable for all your future memes. (Photo copyright 2015 TT Zuma)
Me and Joe Hill, suitable for all your future memes. (Photo copyright 2015 TT Zuma)
I don't remember what I wrote in freelance editor Vikki Ciaffone's book, but it obviously horrified Mary SanGiovanni. (Photo copyright 2015 by TT Zuma).
I don’t remember what I wrote in freelance editor Vikki Ciaffone’s book, but it obviously horrified Mary SanGiovanni. (Photo copyright 2015 by TT Zuma).
Christopher Golden, Jack Haringa, and myself starring in SEUSSICAL. (Photo copyright 2015 Brian Keene)
Christopher Golden, Jack Haringa, and myself starring in SEUSSICAL. (Photo copyright 2015 by Brian Keene)
Myself, Rio Youers, Joe, and Paul Tremblay in THE WORST SELFIE EVER (Photo copyright 2015 by Brian Keene)
Myself, Rio Youers, Joe, and Paul Tremblay in THE WORST SELFIE EVER (Photo copyright 2015 by Brian Keene)

The drive to the signing was miserable. It rained the entire way, turning what should have been an eight hour drive into a thirteen hour drive. I’m not supposed to be driving after dark, due to my deteriorating vision in my left eye, but ended up doing so because of the weather conditions. It was a pretty harrowing trip, but there were good friends at the end of it, and Rio had a beer waiting for me.

Me and Rio, taken 30 seconds after arrival. "Here you blind bastard. Have a beer." (Photo copyright 2015 by Brian Keene)
Me and Rio, taken 30 seconds after arrival. “Here you blind bastard. Have a beer.” (Photo copyright 2015 by Brian Keene)

Luckily, the drive home on Sunday was perfect. The weather was gorgeous — the first true autumn day I’ve experienced this year. The trees from Massachusetts to Pennsylvania were covered in October Rust, and the colors were breathtaking.

As a young man, spring and summer were always my favorite seasons, but as I get older, I find that I’m easing into liking autumn. It’s peaceful and beautiful, and offers a nice precursor to the eventual impending winter. Autumn is a chance to get the last few things done, and to do them with the people you love.

***

Fans of J.F. Gonzalez’s work who are wondering about posthumous publications should listen to last week’s episode of The Horror Show with Brian Keene. In the final segment, right after the interview with Xander Harris, I talk about how many unpublished works are left, and what we intend to do with them.

***

11057264_10101677935011812_8929738337719221010_n

Geoff Cooper is one of my oldest friends. We collaborated on 4X4 and SHADES. He (along with Dave “Meteornotes” Thomas) co-hosts my podcast (linked to above). And he’s also one of my favorite writers. He is sort of the T.E.D. Klein of our generation, in that he releases something new about once per decade.

His new collection, ANSWERS OF SILENCE (which was previously only available as a limited edition hardcover via my Maelstrom imprint at Thunderstorm Books) is available now in paperback and digital from Deadite Press. If you enjoy the work of Jack Ketchum, or if you enjoyed me and Coop’s previous collaborations, then you’ll enjoy this.

***

Pre-ordering for MAELSTROM 2015 is almost here. Get your money ready…

***

UPDATE: And the memes are already starting. This one, created by TallyDude, made me laugh hard.

meme

One thought on “OCTOBER RUST (Pressure, Signing Recap, and new J.F. Gonzalez & Geoff Cooper books)

  1. Congratulations on “Pressure” — sounds like you’re branching out into new territories and that’s exciting. Plus, it’s awesome to see a hardcover Brian Keene book in bookstores again. I’ll definitely be showing my support and picking up a copy when it comes out!

Leave a Reply